Calendar of Events

University Club programs are open to the public and are held Tuesdays at noon in the Padua Room of the Hughes Community Center, 1700 Danbury Road, Claremont, California. A full buffet lunch, beginning at 11:45 AM, is available for $12.00. For those who wish to come only for coffee and dessert, the fee is $5.00. Membership applications are available at each meeting. Map to Hughes Community Center

If you haven't paid your annual dues yet, please mail the $60 payment to the treasurer, or give it to him or a cashier at the next lunch meeting. Members who are 90 and older don't have to pay dues.

June program chair: Brian Bowcock

June 5 – “Cadiz – A water project for our future”

Speaker – Scott S. Slater

Scott S. Slater will discuss the Cadiz water conservation, recovery and storage project, a multi-million dollar project in the high desert serving the people of Southern California. Mr. Slater is a California Shareholder in the nation's leading water practice law firm. For 27 years, Mr. Slater's practice has been limited to litigation and the negotiation of agreements related to the acquisition, distribution, and treatment of water.  He has served as lead negotiator on a number of high profile water transactions. He is the author of California Water Law and Policy, the state's leading treatise on water. He has taught water law and policy and lectured at University of California, Santa Barbara, Pepperdine University, and the University of Western Australia, among others.

Introduction: Brian Bowcock
Fellowship: Patrick Kelley

June 12 – “Mt SAC"

Speaker – Dr. Bill Scroggins

Dr. Scroggins returned home to Southern California to become Mt. San Antonio College’s ninth president on July 1, 2011. He will talk to us about Mt. SAC, education, jobs, and the economy. Dr. Scroggins has amassed 38 years of experience in higher education – 26 of those as a professor and 12 as an administrator. Before coming to Mt. SAC, Dr. Scroggins served as Superintendent/President of College of the Sequoias in Visalia for five years. Under his leadership, College of the Sequoias passed three local bond measures, resulting in the creation of permanent centers in both Hanford and Tulare and significant additions to the main campus in Visalia. Dr. Scroggins earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry at UCLA and a doctorate in chemistry at UC Riverside. He is a prolific author, having published three books in the field of chemistry and penned many articles and papers.

Introduction: Brian Bowcock
Fellowship: Celeste Palmer

June 19 – “Embracing the Future: Irrigating our Claremont Landscapes with Reclaimed Water”


Speaker – Richard C. Haskell

Richard C. Haskell is Professor of Physics at Harvey Mudd College, where among other interests, he has been involved in sustainability and water reclamation work. He will talk to us about irrigating our landscapes with reclaimed water. Dr. Haskell earned his PhD in nuclear physics from Johns Hopkins University in 1972, after which he devoted six years to laser light-scattering studies of skeletal muscle in the Biophysics Department at Johns Hopkins. His current interests in biophysics focus on laser diagnostics of tissue and optical coherence microscopy in developmental biology and tissue engineering. Recently he has also become active in environmental issues and renewable energy sources.

Introduction: Brian Bowcock
Fellowship: Rich Phillips

June 26  –  “It’s Time for Producer Responsibility”

Speaker – Heidi Sanborn

Heidi Sanborn is the executive director of the California Product Stewardship Council. She has been active in the solid waste industry in California for 21 years, working in various public and private positions, including with consulting firms to cities and counties on reducing waste and increasing recycling, as an independent consultant, and serving in state government as technical advisor to the Chair of the California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB), now CalRecycle. In her positions, she observed the lack of attention to true “source reduction,” recognizing that local governments are not the source, but that manufactured products are responsible for 71% of our waste. She helped found and is the executive director of the California Product Stewardship Council. She speaks internationally on producer responsibility and is widely recognized as the expert on EPR policy in California. She has authored numerous articles and reports on product stewardship. She is a graduate of the University of California at Davis with a BA in Political Science, Public Service, and a Master’s of Public Administration from the University of Southern California. 

Introduction: Brian Bowcock
Fellowship: Martha Scott
Birthdays: Margaret Ward


Bulletin Committee Members: David Sonner, Opanyi Nasiali, and Roya Ardelan

Archived Calendars: 2010-2011  - Jan 2012 - Feb 2012 - March 2012 - April 2012 - May 2012

Ideas for good program? Contact Bob Smith, Program Committee Chair  909 625-4344